Weekly Quote: John McBride

Weekly quotes come from BYU faculty members who are regarded by their students as being both spiritually strengthening and intellectually enlarging.
 

“The way I try to integrate the gospel … is that at the very beginning [I] let the students know that … I really, sincerely care about them, [and] I try to break down the barriers. … But the point is that I show them that I care about them, and I don’t just say it; … I try to express it. … And so it’s very gratifying to see a student really believe me when I say, “Yeah, come talk to me, and we’ll spend an hour, two hours, whatever it takes.” … I just try to put myself in their position—which is easy to do, because I’ve spent most of my life at school or research and always feeling like I’m struggling. … But I think the important thing, for me, is to really get them to believe that I care about them and then prove it by doing some things that are extra: leaving my door open, pleading with them to come see me. … That’s what I offer the students.

– John McBride, Department of Geological Sciences

About Thomas Ferrin

Latter-day Saint (Christian). Husband, father. Qualitative researcher. Designer. Jack-of-all-trades. Beatboxer. Thinker on moral agency. I like to wear corduroy and eat street tacos.
This entry was posted in Sharing Oneself, Teach with the Spirit, Weekly Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

