Weekly Quote: Tom Sederberg

Weekly quotes come from BYU faculty members who are regarded by their students as being both spiritually strengthening and intellectually enlarging.

“I’d like to comment on Brigham Young’s instruction to Karl G. Maeser. … He said, ‘You don’t even teach the multiplication tables without the Spirit.’ I believe that you can teach things that on the surface seem completely independent of the gospel, such as math and computer science, engineering, physics … [without] bringing in a testimony of the gospel or anything else. … More often than not, I will have a prayer before I go into the classroom and invite the Spirit in my preparation, in my delivery.  I firmly believe that the Spirit can enlighten your teaching of material completely independent of what we normally think of as gospel doctrine.  It can enlighten teaching of computer science and math and engineering and quicken our understandings.  I’ve heard President Eyring speak of getting a testimony of the principle of thermodynamics.  I believe that [can happen], and it ought to be a commonplace experience at BYU when you invite the Spirit in.”

Tom Sederberg, Professor of Computer Science

About Thomas Ferrin

Latter-day Saint (Christian). Husband, father. Qualitative researcher. Designer. Jack-of-all-trades. Beatboxer. Thinker on moral agency. I like to wear corduroy and eat street tacos.
This entry was posted in Teach with the Spirit, Weekly Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

