Weekly Quote: Craig Merrill

Weekly quotes come from BYU faculty members who are regarded by their students as being both spiritually strengthening and intellectually enlarging.

“I come in the first day and I do a slide show of my background. I show them a baby picture and growing up in the ‘70’s … and then meeting my wife. And so I tell my story … and I can’t help but tell them what my values and beliefs are. But I give them a context. I say, ‘You know, here’s my big picture of beliefs about family and life, and here’s where I see derivatives fitting in it. … You came here for derivatives. And we’re gonna do that really well.’ … And then, at the end of the semester, I bring it back to the big picture and say, ‘Okay, now we’ve [worked hard] together and we’ve had a tough semester, but remember; this is what it’s all about.'”

Craig Merrill, Professor of Finance, Marriott School of Management

About Thomas Ferrin

Latter-day Saint (Christian). Husband, father. Qualitative researcher. Designer. Jack-of-all-trades. Beatboxer. Thinker on moral agency. I like to wear corduroy and eat street tacos.
This entry was posted in Sharing Oneself, Teach with the Spirit, Weekly Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

